You Have Recieved a Hallmark E-Card!!!

Another variant of the Hallmark E-Card virus is out and it’s a rather nicely designed email, as far as viruses go.

The latest version arrives:

Subject:      You Have Recieved a Hallmark E-Card!!!
From:     ”Office@Hallmark.com”<Office@Hallmark.com>

Note that the spammers in this case are apparently not aware of the “I before E, except after C rule of grammar, and thus the mis-spelling in the Subject line is part of the current campaign.

A screen shot of the content layout shows good attention to design and detail, likely helping this campaign infect more users than the average:

Hallmark E-Card Virus

Click for Larger Image

The content of the virus says message includes two links to capture the recipient’s attention:

  1. To see it, click here,
  2. We invite you to make a friend’s day and send one.

If links are followed in either case, you’ll be downloading the Trojan/Virus file from any number of malware web sites. The file is typically named “Hallmark.exe” and running it on your computer will result in the infection.

Once infected, PC’s will then become part of the botnet used to send spam and also further the spread of the virus.

Related posts:

  1. You Received Online Greeting Card – Virus
  2. You Have Received a Greeting Card
  3. You Have Received a Greeting Card – Virus
  4. Your friend invited you to twitter! – Virus
  5. You’ve received a postcard – Active Virus

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “You Have Recieved a Hallmark E-Card!!!”

  1. marion thunberg says:

    I received an e-card. the return address is: e-cards at Hallmark.com There is an attachment and when I clicked on it, it was blocked because of a virus. The subject line reads: You have received A Hallmark E-Card.

    Are you familiar with this or is it an error that there is a virus attached

  2. The attachment was probably an .exe file and your virus software properly blocked it. Most legitimate “e-cards” are displayed on web pages and viewed through your browser.

    “e-card” attachments are not common or safe and it’s not likely that a legitimate company would send them in that format.

Feel free to respond but please read our Comment Policy first.