Posts Tagged ‘fraud’

Gulf Coast Relief Scavengers

Thursday, July 22nd, 2010

vultureHere we go again. The vultures are circling, ready to take advantage of people affected by the Deepwater Horizon oil spill; just like they do after every disaster.

We just blocked a stack of emails purporting to offer help collecting money from the 20 billion dollar compensation fund BP is so graciously providing. In reality though, these emails are an advance-fee fraud attempt.

Advance-fee fraud is a con game in which the perpetrator promises to help the victim receive a large payment (such as an inheritance) but requires “up-front” money to complete the transaction. If the victim is gullible enough they may request several advance payments but in all cases the final payout is never delivered.

The examples we’re focusing on today are pretty slimy overall and not difficult to detect as fraud but they do provide some insights into how these advance-fee scams work.

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

Amazon.com: Please verify your new e-mail address – Fraud

Tuesday, July 20th, 2010

At least one of the larger spam botnets is hard at work these last few days spreading itself via spoofed Amazon.com emails.

For the most part, these frauds do an excellent job of mimicking legitimate Amazon emails.

The arrive with a Subject line of:

From:      ”Amazon.com E-mail Subscriptions” <delivers@amazon.com>
Subject:     Amazon.com: Please verify your new e-mail address

And the design, layout and attention to detail within the email is quite good:

Amazon Delivers Fraud

Click for Larger Image

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

We are Not of Such Dirty and Illegal Characters

Friday, July 16th, 2010

felix laughingEvery so often we get the privilege of reading a laugh out loud funny fraud attempt.

Submitted for your enjoyment:

Subject: We are Not of Such Dirty and Illegal Characters

From: Western Union <westenunion11@live.com>

The subject alone is pretty funny but wait until you ready the message body.

Warning: You’ll probably have to read it several times because it’s fairly mind boggling.

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

Amarillo National Bank Phish

Thursday, July 15th, 2010

Customers of Amarillo National Bank beware. There’s a new phishing campaign targeted at you. So far all of the examples we’ve seen have the same subject:

Subject: notification

And one of two slightly different from addresses:

From: “Amarillo National bank.”<anb@anb.com>

From: “Amarillo National .Bank.”<file3881001@anb.com>

Neither of which look very much like something a real bank would send.

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

Delivery Status Notification (Failure) – Virus

Thursday, July 8th, 2010

We’re seeing a slew of spoofed Delivery Status Notifications that pretend to be “bounced emails” but which are actually attempting to use JavaScript code to cause the recipient’s computer to download viruses to their systems.

The typical example comes with a fairly common Subject/Sender combination:

Subject:      Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
From:     ”System Administrator” <postmaster@roomswithviews.com>

However the “postmaster@” address will be from a randomly spoofed domain since these emails most likely come from already infected personal computers that are functioning as zombies in a spam bot network. The spoofed domain is never the true sender.  For example the one from “postmaster@roomswithviews.com” was actually delivered by:

‘from [109.108.46.163] (helo=isg-109-108-46-163.ivnet.ru) by MailFilter1.onlymyemail.com with esmtp

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

Wikipedia E-mail Address Confirmation – Phishing Fraud

Tuesday, July 6th, 2010

In a campaign that’s closely related to the [WordPress.com] Activate – Phishing Fraud we’re now also seeing a large volume of emails claiming to be Wikipedia e-mail address confirmations.

Messages arrive spoofing wikimedia.org senders, such as:

Subject:      Wikipedia e-mail address confirmation
From:     wiki@wikimedia.org

A screen shot of the fraudulent emails:

Wikipedia E-mail Address Confirmation - Phishing Fraud

Click for Larger Image

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

[WordPress.com] Activate – Phishing Fraud

Friday, July 2nd, 2010

A new spam campaign is circulating that is spoofing “WordPress” blog subscriptions.

Emails most commonly arrive as:

Subject:      [WordPress.com] Activate http://stephen.wordpress.com/
From:     WordPress.com <donotreply@wordpress.com>

Below is a screen shot of an example email:

WordPress Phishing Fraud

WordPress Phishing Fraud

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

The CIA Wants You

Wednesday, June 30th, 2010

cia sealWe don’t even know where to begin with this one:

Subject: Central Intelligence Agency

From: Central Inteligency Agency

To: undisclosed recipients: ;

The Central Inteligency Agency. Really?

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

What Is Your Credit Rating?

Monday, June 28th, 2010

Let’s get this straight right off the bat: There’s no such thing as a free . . . credit score.

You can get a free credit report once a year from each of the three major credit reporting agencies (Equifax, TransUnion and Experian) by visiting www.annualcreditreport.com. The annualcreditreport.com  site allows the credit bureaus to meet their government mandated obligation to disclose credit records to debtors and provides the most information you are going to get for free. Even annualcreditreport.com links to sites managed by the credit bureaus and they each try to trick you into buying credit “management” services while you are getting your annual free report.

Again, this is a free credit report. They are under no obligation to disclose your credit scores. Scores are only provided by the credit bureaus and only for a fee so for someone to give you a free credit score they would have to pay the fee for you.

Not likely.

In spite of this, the email message we’re focusing on today says “Get Your Free Credit Scores From All 3 Bureaus Now!”. So we have to wonder how they afford to give away free credit scores?

(more…)

Bookmark and Share

GoDaddy.com Order Confirmation – Fraud

Wednesday, June 23rd, 2010

Large volumes of emails are being sent spoofing GoDaddy email transaction receipts. Messages generally arrive:

Subject:      GoDaddy.com Order Confirmation
From:     <sales@godaddy.com>

The sending address is spoofed, but you can bet GoDaddy is receiving countless bounced emails and hostile replies.

The email itself looks very well designed, and pulls actual images and graphics from GoDaddy’s servers:

GoDaddy Fraud

Click for Larger Image

(more…)

Bookmark and Share